Fortune Cookies/Crepe

This year, Valentine’s Day happens to apply to me *shocking*. So, in the spirit of making an effort to demonstrate affection, I decided to risk life and limb and try to bake The Boyfriend, cookies <This is when you recoil from the screen making a noise like you’ve been burnt>. I know, I know, baby steps. But, I’ve made fortune cookies once before with a friend, and they didn’t turn out too terrible. None of the people who ate the cookies had diarhoea the next day. Valentines Day Fortune Cookies seemed like an easy and brilliant idea. Here’s the recipe:

Fortune Cookies (12-15 cookies)130212-140730-001

Preheat oven to 180 Celsius

Mix together until creamy
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar

Add
3 egg whites (unbeaten)
1/2 cup flour
1 tsp vanilla or almond extract

Beat until smooth. Drop dough by tablespoons onto greased cookie sheet. Be sure to leave a lot of space between cookies. Bake for 8 -10 minutes or until edges turn golden brown. Remove from oven and turn cookies out onto a flat surface to be shaped. Shape cookies by rolling them around the end of a wooden spoon handle. Cookies must be shaped while they are warm. After you remove the spoon handle, insert the fortune strip and pinch the ends of the cookie.

The recipe itself it quite simple. Unfortunately, I managed to mess even that up. To start with, I added sugar instead of powdered sugar, which made the butter + sugar gravelly.  Then, the added egg whites and flour didn’t make a smooth mixture, so I added some extra flour. This might have messed up the end product a bit.

Every batch of cookies ( I baked three at a time) proved almost impossible to remove from the sheet and roll easily. Firstly, I didn’t leave enough space between the dough drops and as it baked, the cookie dough melted together like molten lava. I had to cut out the shapes after I removed it from the oven. The edges of each cookie had to be prised off the sheet, while the inner part of the cookie was almost too soft, and easily broke apart.

In the end, I had only 6 cookies/crepes/mini-cookie-dough-dosas. But it’s the thought that counts right? Some of the fortunes in the cookies included ‘The fortune you’re seeking is in another cookie’, ‘You will get lucky tonight’ and ‘You will buy me an Instax Mini or bad things will happen’.

I don’t think I’ll be winning the Bestest Girlfriend Award if I literally poison the Boyfriend with love. #irony

Leave a Reply

