Snail Mail (From The Archives)

Hello Readers! You like snail mail don’t you? Wait..why are you looking at the screen nonchalantly? Who doesn’t like getting postal mail that isn’t a bill, an annoying wedding invitation or junk mail, right? Right?

I’m probably responsible for single-handedly keeping the post office in business, considering that I send out a steady stream of postcards, letters and parcels every month. Even this week, I’ll be mailing two postcards – one with pictures of Indians carrying huuge amounts of daily necessities on motorbikes (broomstick/ sacks of onions/a bunch of parsley that takes up double the space than the man clutching it) to a friend in Canada, and another featuring Tamil movie posters to a friend in the States.

So, because my camera is well..non-existent, here are some pretty pictures of snail mail I sent out a couple of months ago.

eat_cake_by_tempsperdu-d5idi91

I made this one for a friend’s birthday. Birthdays are, after all, nature’s way of telling us to eat more cake

thanks_for_snail_mail_by_tempsperdu-d5idh4w

This card was for a friend – the only friend actually – who sends me snail mail regularly. The wonderful thing about Mathew is the randomness in timing with which he sends his letters. Even though we do not talk often and at great depth, his letters have always reached me exactly when I’ve needed a shot of support.

(I’ve had to edit out my address on the top-most envelope for er..some pretense of anonymity)

i_miss_you_all_the_time_by_tempsperdu-d5h5jbx

I made this one for the Boyfriend one day when it was very windy and grey outside and I was feeling creative and depressed. Apparently angst bleeds out of me in the shape of small, cheerful cards.

tumblr_mba0zwXvo81rfhnp8o1_500

This one was for my friend Charlotte who’s returning to university for her Master’s degree.

image_1366863061740761-001

This is a postcard I sent to a friend in the States to remind him of the cinematic idiosyncrasies of the Motherland.

Anyhow, since I’ve some time on my hands, if you’d like me to send you a card/letter/bits of colorful randomness, just leave me a message here or shoot me an email. Just doing my bit to reaffirm your faith in my w̶e̶i̶r̶d̶n̶e̶s̶s̶kindness, what what.

Alright then, back to your day.

One response to “Snail Mail (From The Archives)

  1. Pingback: The Only Thing Better Than Josh Lyman’s Secret Plan To Fight Inflation Is Getting Unexpected Snail Mail | As Bees, Geometry·

Leave a Reply

