Throwback Thursday: When Someone Offers You A Plane Ticket To Canada, Take It.

Hello there, Reader,

You look terribly glum. Don’t worry, it’s almost Friday! Just focus on what you’ll be drinking/eating this weekend – that should cheer you up (chips with yogurt and garlic dip, barbeque pork and chicken, and cupcakes ohh yeahhh).

Now, in an effort to bribe myself into blogging more regularly, I’ve decided to introduce a small weekly Throwback Thursday feature, where I dig into my old blog’s archives and share a post. This week’s Throwback Thursday is about how I was offered a plane ticket to Canada last year, and instead of grabbing it like it was an enchanted Ring Of Power, I sat back and actually made a pro/con clock. Don’t look at me like that. Heyy, its more creative than a lame pro/con list.

tumblr_mkmyxj52sy1s412pvo1_500

Whatever, Rory, I’ve seen your lists – the lines are crooked and the lettering is sloppy okay. Yeah.

Anyhow, in January 2012, I was busy telling ..well, no one actually, I had nary a Reader. This was my post:

‘Since we’re being honest, I am going to tell you about this choice I have to make. It’s about Canada obviously, I believe all my readers are intelligent enough to have guessed that. Basically, I’ve been offered a plane ticket to visit Canada.

“Why aren’t you on the plane already?” you ask with one eyebrow arched. Well, if I go, it’ll be in the summer after I’ve quit my job and figured out my post-graduation plans. Plus I still have to decide whether to go or not. “But it’s a ticket to Canada! Whyever would you *not* go?” you demand, raising the eyebrow higher. The person who offered to pay my way, you see, is a boy, whom I have history with. We’re friends first – really good friends, but with history. The whole trip will be terribly expensive so I’ll feel all Catholic Guilty about it. And yes, it’ll be so much fun, but there will be complications. It’s me, of course there will be complications.

So, I have not made up my mind about it. I figure I have plenty of time to argue with myself and come to a decision. In the meantime, I’ve created a Canada Gauge to show you which way I’m leaning. So, here, I present:

thecanadagauge2

For those of you wondering if I ever got off my ass and made a decision – I didn’t. I waited for too long, by which time The Boyfriend appeared on the scene and distracted me.  IT WAS A TICKET TO CANADA. Damn his corny jokes and pretty smile. Sigh.

P.S. Moral Of The Story: Never look a gift horse in the mouth for too long (unless its Greeks bearing gifts).

Leave a Reply

