DIY: Book Of Notes For A Friend

one of my best friends is about to volunteer at our alma mater in the Drama department for a semester. both of us know that it’s going to be quite a surreal experience. if it were me, I’d feel immediately out of place, seeing kids and teachers that had nothing to do with me when I was there and grumpy that there was no one left from the old guard I could complain to. plus, it’s just weird to go back to a place that used to be home and isn’t anymore.

so, I decided to make her a book of little encouraging and humorous notes to get her through the first couple weeks of school. there are also a couple of crosswords, join-the-dots, and colouring pages, emergency supplies, and the odd gift or two. hah, I think I’m having more fun making it than she’ll have reading it.

here are some pages of the book:

scrapbook7

cheat sheets for surviving high school, including pills for headaches, website links for procrastination and coupons good for one hour venting sessions.

scrapbook6

emergency supplies for hunger, bleeding, demotivation and boredom

I wrote her letters for when she would be so angry that she’d want to punch someone or when she’s sick of home. I printed out the first act of William Shakespeare’s Star Wars for her drama class, and also provided her with some pictures of age-appropriate male objectification.

scrapbook1

I bought her a bunch of pretty golden bangles, and put them in an envelope which I labelled ‘open when you desperately need a pick-me-up’; I sealed it and then pasted this pretty blue rosette on top.

scrapbook2

extra details:

lll

I’m so excited to give it to her, even though I’m going to tell her that she’s only to open the book when school start’s. Good work self *pats myself on back*. Happy Mehsday you guys.

Leave a Reply

