A Taste Of Home

Hello Readers,

What’s the best thing about home for you? The food, the people, the way it feels like a security blanket? Yeah, me too. This weekend I got to catch up with one of my best friends who happens to be in town too. R’s going to take the GRE in a week, so I went over to her place to encourage her to study (the dreaded) mathematics. Unfortunately, and no thanks to me, we ended up watching more Carnivale episodes than learning math formulas. Nevertheless, it was a lovely evening, with great food and lots of reminiscing, especially about the show. The only thing I remembered clearly about Carnivale was it’s beautiful title opening sequence – one of the most creative and intriguing ever on TV.

For the ignorant, Carnivale is an American dramatic TV series, set in the mid-1930s Depression era. The story, which revolves around Lightness versus Darkness, represented by two Avatars who rise in each generation to do battle, is illustrated through a traveling carnival working the American Dustbowl circuit, and an evangelical ministry in California.

I completely forgot about the inherent creepiness. Lodz, Babylon, Management, Sophie communicating with Apollonia – there isn’t a single episode that won’t make you feel uneasy when turning off the lights to go to sleep. But it’s because the show is/was so creative and keeps you on the edge of your seat that makes it a great show. R fell asleep, but I stayed awake by myself for a few more episodes, until I was too creeped out.

The next morning, I was ready for sunlight and coffee and happiness. Thankfully, a quick walk around R’s house quickly cured me of the heebie-jeebies from the previous night. Have I mentioned that R has the most gorgeous house? It’s filled with warmth, textures, earthy colours, and beautiful quirky items wherever you look; I love wandering around in it. Sigh. I want my future house to be like this.

house

Her house also has a gorgeous view, so we had pancakes with raspberry jam, stewed peaches and butter for breakfast on her veranda.

DSC00192-002

Happiness is friends and food you guys. That’s all it takes. Thinking of you all this week and sending you many positive vibes, while they last. xx

Leave a Reply

