Celebrating One Month Abroad

One month ago, I disembarked British Airways  Flight 36 at Heathrow, and made my way to a historic English cathedral city in  South East England. I was exhausted, worried about what lay in store, but excited that I’d actually made it.

Today, I can’t believe that a month has already whooshed by. From finding my way around town to trying to settle back into the academic groove and setting fire alarms off (I tried to make pancakes) to learning how to be non anti-social again – there’s been a lot of change. In a way, I don’t think it’s completely hit me that I’m here. I’m almost too calm when I’m walking down the road or when I step out of my door and can see this gorgeous view:

DSC00224

But, then I’ll get excited over the most ridiculous things, like the superfast download speed, or that I can turn on a tap and get hot water instantaneously without having to switch a geyser on, or that almost all the houses have unique, colorful little number plates or that the local Indian store has motherfucking MAGGI noodles! whowoudathunk.

Although the standard of living is (a lot) higher  and more comfortable here, everything is so structured that it bewilders me a little. Yes, it’s efficient, safe, controlled, and organized; I appreciate it’s functional merits, but it also leaves me appreciating (and I never thought I’d say this) the laxness in Indian infrastructure – you know, the ability to run across the road (and get mowed by a lorry, in the attempt) without having to press a button or not having to paying a pound to use a supermarket trolley, or the absence of a 100+ little health and safety rules and regulations which have the distinct merit of well, being useful and which saves lives, but leaves you feeling a little too regulated. Then again, I’ve never been able to completely get over Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle In Time. I mean, what’s the harm in setting a couple of cows loose on the street, right? Heh, okay, that might be taking it a little far. Actually, Canterbury more than makes up for the absence of cows with an overpopulation of pigeons and seagulls (WHY ARE THERE SEAGULLS HERE?! THERE IS NO OCEAN AROUND).

Having read the previous paragraph, I think I might be a little homesick. For all the wrong reasons, as is my wont to do, obviously. Either ways,it has been exhausting, dealing with the overall fuckery of living in a new country/continent, keeping up with my academic demands

which has been quite overwhelming, given that I haven’t done anything academic in five years, and can’t seem to think beyond Buffy The Vampire Slayer episode criticisms

as well as living/eating issues, given that I can’t cook

and put people in mortal danger when I try.

So all in all, let’s congratulate ourselves for surviving a month

and here’s to making it through the next eleven. Thanks for keeping me company.

xx

Leave a Reply

