I Made Fried Rice & Lived To Tell The Tale

Hello Readers!

It’s been ages since I posted anything about my abortive cooking attempts – this is mainly because I’ve been living off noodles, frozen pizza and stuff out of jars and occasionally my flatmates take pity on me and give me some of the the food they’ve cooked. But, yesterday, I decided that I would risk everything and try to make fried rice. Aand, surprisingly it turned out amazing and I didn’t set the fire alarms off or put in too much salt and most importantly, I haven’t died from eating it as yet, so everything’s good. And if I can make fried rice, you can make fried rice. Here’s how to:

1) Boil rice – I used one of those fancy modern cookers, so I didn’t have to do much. Also, I added a pinch of salt to the water.

2) Fry bacon/meat, and add in vegetables – I bought a pack of frozen vegetables from Asda. Cook until the vegetables are soft.

3) Add in a pinch of salt, a capful of soy sauce and half a capful of vinegar to the bacon and vegetables, and stir.

4) When the rice is done, add it to the vegetables and meat. Stir.

5) If it still tastes bland, add in spices (which I have no knowledge about) or a chicken stock cube. Note: I initially wanted to add the stock to the rice when it was boiling but forgot. Make sure to break up and stir the cube thoroughly into the rice; this will make it taste excellent.

And that’s it. It honestly wasn’t that complicated, and should only take you an hour or less to make.

DSC00869-001

6) Eat.

Leave a Reply

