Being Productive at Being Unproductive

Hello Readers,

It’s been a couple of trying weeks. The lack of a coherent idea for my dissertation along with my usual coursework demands added to the monthly curse of being a woman has left me feeling like I’m drowning in a mess of words, pages, paper, punctuation, cramps and contentions.

Suddenly, small, usually insignificant actions evoke out-of-proportion responses, like excuse me lady at the Tesco billing counter examining my notes to check if they’re counterfeit, if I was clever enough to print my own £20 notes, I’d be shopping in fucking Waitrose.

Then you start to feel like the universe is conspiring against you, especially when you keep losing ebay bidding wars in THE LAST TWO SECONDS.

Needless to say, with a thunderstorm raging outside, overhead and one inside your head, you hardly feel like you’re happiness personified.

Ugh. Honestly, this is one of those rare times, when I’ve felt out of my depth. I have to settle on a dissertation topic, finish preparing for a presentation, and come up with an essay topic for one of my modules this week. I feel incredibly fortunate to be able to be busy studying topics I love, but it is overwhelming. In fact, at a time when I need to be at my most efficient, I have become less efficient than ever. This past week I’ve cleaned my room twice, read all the theories on True Detective, and even taken a trip to see my relatives. 

Totally empathizing with Hamlet right now, you guys. KILL ME NOW

Alright you guys, I’ll stop procrastinating….tomorrow. I’m going to try my best to ignore reading theories on True Detective, scrolling through Ebay and refrain from starting on any ambitious artsy/crafty projects.

G’night!

xx


Leave a Reply

