And I was so sure that my obituary would read: PS, died May 01 aged 26 of essay related stress

Well, hello there, Readers. 

It’s been quite a while since I last blogged. In my defense, I’ve been up to my eyes reading and researching and writing and editing, and reading and researching and writing and editing and readi— you get the drift. Spring (ie. three days of sunshine) arrived, flowers bloomed, those bloody birds kept chirping, Easter rolled around, and the stress increased even as the word count progressively decreased. I’m one of those people who everyone thinks is hardworking and patient, but I honestly take ages to write my essays only because I simultaneously watch/listen to a tv show while I work.I’m sure everyone does this once in a while. You know, write a couple of lines, watch an episode of The West Wing, write a couple more lines, watch an episode of Friday Night Lights etc. Wait, why are you shaking your head? No, no, it helps me think. Oof fine, yeah, you’re right. It’s counter-productive. I mean, its the equivalent of giving Church up for Lent, which, incidentally is something that I did too a couple of years ago. But, I digress. 

I’ve had to write three essays which were due today. One  was on Marlowe and the Overreacher in Tambourlaine and Doctor Faustus, the second was on Masculine Women in Sensation Novels (Lady Audley’s Secret and The Woman In White) and the third was on the female threat to Victorian masculinity in Haggard’s King Solomon’s Mines. It’s been quite difficult to get these essays done compared to the papers I wrote last term. It’s hard to believe that just a month ago, I had no topics at all and had no faith that I would be able to get these done. I’ll be blogging more than usual this coming week, because I’d like to share a bit about each of the essays, because even though it sounds like they were a pain in the ass to write (which they were), I still enjoyed writing them and hope that you might be interested in reading one of the books or plays I’ll mention.

I’m still in shock that I’ve handed my essays in. All throughout today, I’ve had a niggling feeling that I should be reading or writing or researching and watching a T.V show, of course. But instead I sat in my backyard in the sun, had fish curry and chappathis for lunch, made a shopping list of red wine and useless stationery to buy tomorrow and watched the semis of Eurovision. My head is in a muddled state of sun and spring and relief and strawberry lip balm.

G’night.

xx

DSC01105-002

 

Leave a Reply

