Creating A Pregnancy Scrapbookthing

Hello Fabulous Followers,

I recently was made a godmother! I know right. So cool.

It was utterly unexpected. I mean anyone who knows me knows that little children and I don’t really get along. We can tolerate each other in small doses, but always only when there are other capable, responsible adults around. So I really don’t know what Ees was smoking when she said that I’d be one to her soon-to-be-born spawn . . . come to think of it, I’m not sure I’m an official godmother, but even so, this is a total #levelup.

Heh, so, having some time on my hands (read: freelancer), I decided to DSC02834~2make Ees a pregnancy scrapbook thing. I wanted to make it amusing, colorful and memorable, so I researched a bit, pulled out wrapping paper, color cards, Lisa Frank stickers and envelopes from different corners of the house and put something together.  I spent around 4 days assembling this little book, and it was so much fun. I’d wake up, pull everything out, drink my coffee, put on some excellent music, frown at the page in front of me, start placing paper on card and then figuring out which quote to put where, gluing everything in place and then sitting on the book to well, make sure that everything stuck in place (yes, I know I’m weird).

This is how it turned out:

Pages 1&2

DSC02818~2

which included a congratulations! card and a little letter, as well as cut-out clocks counting down the pregnancy months.

Page 3&4

DSC02821~2

Page three includes advice on naming the baby, and my brilliant suggestions of course in the small yellow envelope. I was deliberating over including Red Sonja on the list, but I’m not sure if the baby’ll be hardcore enough to live up to the name, so passed it over. Page four contains a list of hilarious old wives tales regarding pregnancy (knowing me though, I’d have totally tried the ‘tie a ring onto a string and then swing it above your baby to determine the gender’ thing).

Page 5&6

DSC02824~2

I particularly like this set. Page 5 contains a pregnancy cd I made for Ees, aptly titled ‘Yo Mama’. Heh heh heh. It’s got quite a random selection of songs. There’s some Bright Eyes, Talking Heads, Fleetwood Mac, Joshua Radin and then some – as godmother, I’m definitely making sure this baby has good taste in music.

Page 6 is for the baby’s father – I starting to feel bad about excluding him, and as it turns out, his is one of the most entertaining pages in the whole book. As you can see, there are a couple of commandments for dads-to-be such as “If your wife is hungry, drop everything and get her the food asap. Your marriage depends on it. Oh look, you think I’m joking. No, I’m not. Get.Food.Now.” It also has that amusing meme of Boromir who’s sagely stating “One does not simply explain to his pregnant wife that she’s overreacting” – pro tip: guys, this applies to all women. Just don’t. You’re welcome. Oh, and there are recommendations for the best pregnancy phone app as well. And I like the cat.

Page7&8

DSC02827~2

Okay, this might just be the most colorful page layout in the book. I quite like the way the pages meld together *pats self on back*. For Page 7, I looked up how babies are made on yahoo answers. You guys, the answers are hilarious. Check ’em out here https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090423094332AAfpWwb and here https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20130611214554AA5JGvh. And on the next page, I printed out Dr. Seuss’s explanation for pregnancy and popped it in the envelope. Oh, and I also gave the lucky couple a couple of links to sites that would merge their faces together and predict what their future baby could look like. Score.

Page 9&10

DSC02843~2

Page 9 was given over to information on the secret benefits of pregnancy, followed by this page on the best pregnancy movies and TV shows. I quite like this page because it’s so minimal compared to the other pages, and you probably can’t see it from the picture, but there’s a little prop-up behind the TV, making it pop-up.

Page 11&12

DSC02832~2

I had a lot of fun with Page 11 which was all about pregnancy books to read. The borders are (supposed to be) spines of childhood books I loved reading, and there’s a decorative library card, one with glasses (because Ees wears them) and I made a little old-fashioned library card as well: DSC02833~2

As you can tell, I had a little fun with the names of those who checked out the book 🙂 The next page was a gift page – I basically slipped a small Winnie The Pooh book into a big yellow envelope, stuck a pretty green gift bow on the top, and threw in a little bookmark as well.

Page 13&14

DSC02835~2

Pretty little purple and yellow themed layout, with ‘Most Annoying Things You’ll Hear During Pregnancy’ on one side, and a letter to Ees on the other.

DSC02840~2

This is the last layout in the book. There are essential tips for pregnant moms in the envelope to the left. I’m quite fond of the page on the right. There’s a little calendar with ‘coming soon’ helpfully attached on top. There’s a small note underneath, and that adorable giraffe to the right, a couple of quotes, and in the pretty blue envelope, there’s a pretty, little pink and white flower brooch for Ees.

Annd, that’s about it. I could’ve gone on for a couple more pages, but was running out of paper and time. I completed the book, as I always do – an empty page with a small copyright.

I think this should do, don’t you? I hope she enjoys it.

Well that’s all I have for you. Please click-through the pictures if you want to look at the details. Hope you all have a wonderful week!

x

Leave a Reply

